The Bold and the Beautiful wins drama series

The Associated Press

LOS ANGELES – The Bold and the Beautiful won drama series honors at the Daytime Emmys on Sunday, the CBS soap opera’s first such victory in 22 years on the air.

It was a poignant victory for executive producer Bradley Bell, whose late father William J. Bell co-created The Young and the Restless, a show that was honored seven times in the same category. The younger Bell’s mother, Lee Phillip Bell who worked closely with her husband and also on her son’s show, cheered him on.

“It’s incredibly exciting because I grew up going to visit that show,” Bell said backstage. “It’s sweeter after 22 years, it didn’t come in five or 10 or 15 years. I think my dad is here in spirit. He would probably say, `It’s about time.’ I took out the expletive.”

The live telecast on the CW went off the air just as the cast and crew was assembling on the stage to accept its trophy.

“That’s fine with me,” Bell said. “The less of me at a microphone the better. It was your run-of-the-mill acceptance speech.”

Drama series lead acting honors went to Christian LeBlanc of The Young and the Restless, and Susan Haskell of ABC’s One Life to Live.

LeBlanc scored his third career trophy, taking a playful bite out of the globe on the trophy.

“You cannot resist the excitement,” he said backstage.

Guiding Light earned one of its last trophies before it leaves the air after 72 years. Jeff Branson, who plays Shayne Lewis on the CBS soap, tied for supporting actor.

“This is so bittersweet,” he said backstage.

He tied with Vincent Irizarry of ABC’s All My Children, who got his soap start on Guiding Light in the early 1980s.

“I have such affection for that show. I’m grateful to have had the opportunity to be a part of television history,” Irizarry said backstage. “What other medium is producing product that lasts 72 years? It has entertained not only generations, but employed generations of people.”

Good Morning America earned morning program honors for the third time in as many years since the category was introduced.

The lifetime achievement award went to PBS’ Sesame Street for 40 years of educating and entertaining children. Sandra Oh helped salute the show, joined by Big Bird, Elmo, Oscar the Grouch and Cookie Monster, who sang its famous theme song and earned a standing ovation.