Women’s Lacrosse Captures First Northeast-10 Championship

WEST HAVEN, Conn – The University of New Haven women’s lacrosse team defeated visiting Southern New Hampshire University, 12-7, at Ralph F. DellaCamera Stadium on Sunday afternoon to capture its first ever Northeast-10 Conference (NE-10) Championship. The Chargers improve to 16-3 overall this season, while the Penmen finish their season at 13-5.

Ashley Ferrandiz gave the Chargers 2-0 lead with a goal in the fifth minute on Sunday. The Penmen answered with two goals in the ninth minute, evening the score at 2-2. Six minutes later, Brianna Kenworthy and Brigid Brady put the Chargers ahead 4-2. SNHU added one in 21st minute, but the Chargers finished strong with three unanswered goals to push their lead to 7-3 at the midway point.

Brady, Sarah Magnone and Kenworthy each scored in the opening four minutes of the second half to put the Chargers up by seven, 10-3. Over the next 14 minutes the Penmen cut New Haven’s lead to four (11-7) by scoring four of the next five goals. Ashley Ferrandiz capped scoring in the 54th minute with her 57th of the season. The Chargers then managed to stall and run out the clock for the remaining six minutes.

Maureen Spellman made nine saves in goal for the Chargers, while allowing only seven goals. She saved five shots in the first half and four in the second half.

The Chargers’ offense was led by four goals from senior Brady. Kenworthy also finished with three goals. Ashley Ferrandiz finished with two goals, while Magnone, Mallory Ferrandiz and Alexis Gabbe each finished with one score.

The Chargers, ranked No. 8 in the latest Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association/Under Armour poll, will find out later tonight if they made the 2009 NCAA Championship field. The Chargers were ranked third in the north region poll last week. Three at-large bids from the north region are selected to the Championship.

NCAA Division I, II and III Women’s Lacrosse and Division II and III Men’s Lacrosse Championships brackets will be announced exclusively on CBS College Sports Network during the NCAA Lacrosse Selection Special. The brackets will be revealed tonight between 10 and 11 p.m. (Eastern Time).

CBS College Sports Network is available on local cable systems around the country and also via satellite on Dish Network (channel 152) and DirecTV (channel 613). On Comcast in New Haven and the surrounding area, CBS College Sports Network is channel 274. Immediately following the announcement on CBS College Sports Network, www.NCAA.com will have the complete bracket.