Chargers Earn Seventh Seed in NE-10 Softball Championship

Charger Athletics

SOUTH EASTON, Mass. – The University of New Haven softball team earned the seventh seed in the 2012 Northeast-10 Conference

Winners of four-straight, the Chargers hold the longest winning streak headed into the championship tournament.

Softball Championship which was announced by the conference office on Sunday. The conference schedule came to a close on Sunday and with a 17-13 conference record, the Chargers came in just ahead of Stonehill College. New Haven will travel to second seeded Adelphi University for its first round single-elimination game on Tuesday, April 24. Game time is set for 2 p.m.

Winners of four-straight, the Chargers hold the longest winning streak headed into the championship tournament. This season marks the fourth-straight that the year that UNH has earned a bid into the NE-10 tournament and the fifth-straight postseason appearance by the Chargers.

Southern Connecticut State University earned the top seed after earning the regular season championship. Assumption College, Le Moyne College and UMass Lowell round out the top five seeds, respectively. Southern New Hampshire University earned the sixth spot, while Stonehill came in at the eighth seed. The four winning teams from Tuesday’s single elimination round will advance to the championship tournament (double elimination) on Thursday, April 26 through Saturday, April 28. The championship is scheduled to culminate at the highest remaining seed on Saturday, April 28.

To see the full list of seeds and the 2012 Softball Championship schedule, see below. For complete coverage of the Chargers’ run through the conference championship, stay posted to

2012 Northeast-10 Softball Championship Seeds

No. 1 So. Connecticut

No. 2 Adelphi

No. 3 Assumption

No. 4 Le Moyne

No. 5 UMass Lowell

No. 6 So. New Hampshire

No. 7 New Haven

No. 8 Stonehill

2012 Northeast-10 Softball Championship Schedule

First Round (Single Elimination)

Tuesday, April 24

Game 1: No. 8 Stonehill at No. 1 Southern Connecticut – 2:00 p.m.

Game 2: No. 7 New Haven at No. 2 Adelphi – 2:00 p.m.

Game 3: No. 6 Southern New Hampshire at No. 3 Assumption – 2:00 p.m.

Game 4: No. 5 UMass Lowell at No. 4 Le Moyne – 2:00 p.m.

Championship Tournament  – At Highest Remaining Seed (Double Elimination)

Thursday, April 26

Game 5: Game 1 winner vs. Game 4 winner – 1:00 p.m.

Game 6: Game 2 Winner vs. Game 3 winner – 4:00 p.m.

Friday, April 27

Game 7: Game 5 loser vs. Game 6 loser – 10:00 a.m.

Game 8: Game 5 winner vs. Game 6 winner – 12:30 p.m.

Game 9: Game 7 winner vs. Game 8 loser – 3:00 p.m.

Saturday, April 28

Game 10: Game 9 winner vs. Game 8 winner – 11:00 a.m.

Game 11: If Necessary – 30 minutes after conclusion of Game 10

Sunday, April 29

Rain Date for Thursday’s – Saturday games